Congratulations 2016 Terwilliger Environmental Award Winner, David Herlocker

David Herlocker On Saturday, May 7th, 2016, a crisp spring day at the lush Stafford Lake Park in Novato, complete with sprinkles of rain and flocks of Canadian Geese, WildCare and the Terwilliger family came together to honor Marin County Parks’ Interpretive Naturalist David Herlocker with this year’s Terwilliger Environmental Award.

Many of David’s friends and colleagues, along with the WildCare community, gathered to show appreciation and give kudos to David Herlocker’s contributions to nature education.

Known as the “Google of Nature”,  David is considered one of the most knowledgeable naturalists in the area.

He is a well known for his outstanding interpretive hikes, successful family outings and presenting essential trainings for environmental organizations.

David worked at the California Academy of Sciences and San Francisco Zoological Society from 1980 – 1999,  where he taught classes and led field trips for the Junior Academy, adult education programs, and Zoological Society Education Program. David also served as Supervisor of the Junior Academy from 1987 – 1988. From 1988 – 1999, David was an Animal Keeper for San Francisco Zoological Society (Children’s Zoo). In addition to exhibit maintenance and animal care, he developed and presented educational programs including daily “Meet the Keeper” talks, teacher workshops and annual “Wildlife Weekend” program. From 1999 until present, David has been an Interpretive Naturalist for Marin County Parks, coordinating programs, leading walks, and conducting lectures on many aspects of natural history.

David has also provided trainings and field trips for various educational programs including Audubon Canyon Ranch, S.T.R.A.W., Point Bonita YMCA, Slide Ranch, Headlands Institute, Marin Conservation League and WildCare.
Drawing from his 36 years of experience and interpretive skills, David has inspired countless children and adults to find the “awesomeness” in local flora and fauna, and to become stewards of the environment.

The Presentation of the 2016 Terwilliger Environmental Award to David Herlocker on May 7, 2016 was a wonderful occasion!

Enjoy this gallery of photos from the event by photographer David Taylor!

About the Terwilliger Environmental Award

Nationally renowned naturalist and educator, Elizabeth Terwilliger, known affectionately as Mrs. T, was truly an inspiration to generations of Bay Area residents, and her multi-sensory teaching techniques continue to be the basis of WildCare’s Nature Education programs.

Mrs. T believed that environmental education was key to inspiring children to care for the natural world and always said, “Teach children to love nature; people take care of the things they love.”Mrs T seaweed

Mrs T red hatThe Terwilliger Environmental Award honors an educator who:

  • Is actively involved in teaching the public to appreciate and protect the natural environment
  • Has made a significant difference and a real impact on the Bay Area
  • Inspires children and adults to love nature by making the study of nature interesting, fun and exciting
  • Demonstrates a commitment to responsible action for the environment and a sustainable world
  • Shows consistent interest and determination in both the length and variety of his/her environmental activities
  • Leads with new insights and methods for environmental education.

WildCare’s selection committee will review nominations and will announce a winner in April 2016.

Previous award recipients include:

  • 2015  Ane Carla Rovetta
  • 2014 Meryl Sundove, National Audubon Society, Pt. Reyes Bird Observatory, Bay Shore Studies and S.T.R.A.W
  • 2012 Charles McGlashan, Marin County Supervisor
  • 2011 Sharon Barnett, Marin Nature Adventures
  • 2010 Norm Gershenz,
  • 2009 John Muir Laws, California Academy of Sciences
  • 2008 Joe Mueller, College of Marin
  • 2007 Laurette Rogers, Bay Institute, STRAW
  • 2006 Leora Feeney, Friends of the Alameda Wildlife Refuge
  • 2005 Zeva Longley, Canal Child Care Center
  • 2004 Margaret Goodale, Randall Museum
  • 2003 Wendy Dreskin, California Native Plant Society
  • 2002 Jeanne Casella, Mary E. Silveira Elementary School and Laura Dax Honda, Manor Elementary School (tie)
  • 2001 Dr. Martin Griffin, environmental activist and author